Tim Cook on intuition

“Any purely rational consideration of cost and benefits lined up in Compaq’s favor, and the people who knew me best advised me to stay at Compaq… On that day in early 1998 I listened to my intuition, not the left side of my brain or for that matter even the people who knew me best… no more than five minutes into my initial interview with Steve, I wanted to throw caution and logic to the wind and join Apple. My intuition already knew that joining Apple was a once in a lifetime opportunity to work for the creative genius, and to be on the executive team that could resurrect a great American company.”[1]

— Tim Cook

I’d like underline that decisions are made base on intuition. But let’s clarify things straightaway: You, me, them, we’re NOT Jobs or Cook or Zuckerberg or Musk, nor are we Tesla, Einstein or Coppernic. It take great experience and preparation not to seize opportunities like this, but to be ready when it comes. Intuition will detect it, will know. Should you be ready or not. Never stop learning, never stop pushing things forward. Hard work always pays.

Leave a Reply

